Hawaii 5-O


Kauai discovery

Kauai discovery

This photo is submitted by Kesley Patterson, of Montreal. Here’s the note he sent:
“Over a decade ago, in the summer of 2002, we took a family trip to Hawaii. Even at the age of 12 I knew how lucky I was to be there, and I think I realized then the importance of making the most of that trip. On the island of Kauai, we parked our car on the side of the road in a very remote location on the island (although they all felt remote), and with the help of a tour book, walked a kind of narrow, makeshift path through tall grass and (as we later discovered) poisonous weeds to arrive at this beautiful clearing. It was something of a paradise of different layered ponds and waterfalls for tourists in the know (or at least that’s how I remember it).

Anyway, from the edge of the lowest pond/pool there was a swing rope. And one by one the courageous would grab hold, swing, and let themselves drop. Like I said, I was 12 at the time, had little upper body strength, and was… a little scared. But I did it, held on, and will always remember that drop. And I would do it a million times over if I could. So, it isn’t quite dock jumping, but I couldn’t help but think of that moment when I stumbled across your blog.”

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

